Press Conference Featuring Bill Clinton

Today I had to make a choice. I could go to class and do my routine sitting in and listening to lectures, or I could be a reporter for the day and attend a press conference featuring Bill Clinton endorsing Hillary Clinton at the Ashe Powerhouse Theatre. I chose the latter.

This was my first press conference, and I had a lot of fun doing it. I was accompanied by my newspaper adviser, who is a retired journalist after 35 years. During the conference, I met several journalist, and broadcast reporters. I was absolutely floored looking at some of the photography gear some of the big-boy photographers had.

Though, there is definitely a camera complex when you compare your modest Nikon D3200 to a nice D7200, or a full-frame D700 with premium lenses. One day I’ll be there.

If you’d like to see the article on the event I published for the Xavier Herald, click here.

 

Cctn3vyUsAEE0v3.jpg-large

My adviser captured an off-guard picture of me on reporting duty.

Once we got in, there was a secret service security sweep. After a relatively easy check-in process we waited for former President Bill Clinton to take the stage.

Bill Clinton_3.4.16-6

New Orleans’ Mayor Mitch Landrieu introduces former President Bill Clinton

Bill Clinton_3.4.16-9

President Clinton discusses how modern infrastructure, education, healthcare and inclusion are some of the greatest challenges the United States faces.

Bill Clinton_3.4.16-14

Clinton said that he firmly supports Hillary Clinton as the only viable candidate for U.S. presidency.

I was able to get close to the former president, and shoot some great shots. While with better equipment I could have gotten some nicer shots with the low lighting, I didn’t think I did suck  bad job. In the future I think I should car a lens with a greater focal length when capturing political conferences.

While I photographed most of the event, I also tried periscoping the event. Periscope is a broadcasting app developed by twitter where people can tune in to your live stream.

Bill Clinton_3.4.16-23

For much of the conference I periscoped an took pictures at the same time. I’d love to come up with a more efficient way of doing both.

After a long hour of periscoping and shooting stills, I had enough. President Clinton finished his speech, and greeted several people on his way out. Overall, I enjoyed my first press event and I look forward to the next big one.

Bill Clinton_3.4.16-25

Clinton greets Hillary’s  supporters after he ended his message.

 

Leave a Reply

