Golden Girl Pom Squad – A Photo Essay

Last Sunday I had the opportunity to document Xavier University’s Golden Girls Pom Squad during their appearance in the Krewe of Mid-City, a parade leading up to Mardi Gras. Last year I took photos of the group, and ended up with over 900 pictures. Unfortunately, I din’t have 900 good shots, I had somewhere between 10-15.

This year I was a bit more conservative with my shots, considering the shutter life of my camera and the fact that I spent half the time recording video. Moreover, I had the chance to practice more technique. Every shot had meaning and goal behind it.

If you have been following my blog, you may have caught on that I started using more abstract theory in photos. Instead of looking at the subjects as what they are, I looked at lines, shapes and composition. My goal is to do less unintentional snapshots, and more thinking behind my shots.

Below are some of my favorite shots during the parade.

 

GGPS2016-21

Pom Squad group leaders pose for a photo before the parade, while they still look fresh,

GGPS2016-19

Before the Pom Squad travelled to the Parade site, they took some time to practice their stands at Xavier.

GGPS2016-17

Pom Squad members, and support color guards pose for a picture at the parade landing site before the group enters the Krewe of Mid City

GGPS2016-18

Before the parade at the landing site, Pom Squad members begin to stretch. These stretches also include jump kicks and holding squat positions.

GGPS2016-15

Let the beat drop. Pom Squad enters the parade after float 16. They hit the streets with a stand, instantly greeted by parade attendees.

GGPS2016-10

The Pom Squad adviser set up a group of young dancers to help the Pom Squad parade during the Krewe of Mid City

 

GGPS2016-14

Pom Squad members show off their stands in unison during the Krewe of Mid City.

GGPS2016-8

GGPS2016-11

GGPS2016-6

GGPS2016-5GGPS2016-13

GGPS2016-1

After parading for 6 miles, the Pom Squad was done. The only things they wanted were water, their phones, and the transportation so they can get back to campus.

Leave a comment